personal

Time to move on?

I notice several high profile leads from ESPN have moved on.  Bill Simmons was let go, now signed on to HBO.  Colin Cowherd didn’t re-sign after 10 years with ESPN, seems to have something lined up.  Keith Olbermann left, again.

I’ve read some articles that discuss the need for ESPN to manage the cost of its product.  I think that proves that even the most seemingly powerful enterprises can be challenged.  There would seem to be a pretty large barrier to entry to, say, start your own 24-hour sports channel, but both Fox and NBC are challenging ESPN in this area.  Reminds me that you should all check out a book titled “Competition Demystified” by Bruce C. Greenwald and Judd Kahn.  It basically debunks all the fancy corporate-speak we use to try to explain why we are better than other companies, and says in most every case, it all comes down to execution and efficiency in operations – because even the most powerful cable sports network ever invented isn’t invincible (unfortunately you can’t patent “top ten plays” and those sorts of things). So, when a leading network feels challenged they have to manage costs and find new ideas to stay in front.  For those who “got us here” that means it might be time to move on, your choice or not.

I thought Colin Cowherd was eloquent in explaining why he is leaving ESPN.  Quoted Pat Riley saying you should reinvent yourself every ten years.  Sometimes, it is just time to move on, no drama.

Many pro athletes never realize when its time to move on.  See Brett Favre (too late).  Or Michael Jordan (too early once, too late once, and I’m still recovering from the baseball years). Goldilocks for athletes was Derek Jeter in my opinion.

I’ve lived in Las Vegas basically all my life and was born here. We always get super sensitive when people leave.  What did we do wrong?  Is our community just not welcoming enough? Are all those things New York says about us true?  Well, sometimes folks just have to move on. All the rest of us can do is rally together and make the best of it.

I still have both my parents, and I feel blessed for that but know I’m never thankful enough – based on what I’ve seen from those I’m close to, I won’t be until one or both of them aren’t with me and I will regret my lack of thankfulness.  Those of you who have lost one or both of your parents, I am sorry they had to move on, I know you wish you had one more day. But we all have to move on.

I have only left a “real” job once, I worked at Arthur Andersen for 7 years until the Enron thing.  So I kind of had to leave.  Didn’t really want to, I really liked it but once I thought about it, it was ok.  And I’ve been extremely happy at my second real job at MGM Resorts ever since. Sometimes the best thing you can do is move on.

If you are in a place where you might have to move on, make sure you keep perspective.  As I like to tell college kids about their first job, don’t sweat the decision as much as you think you should – a) you can always change it, and b) learn as much as you can while in the current situation.

One thought on “Time to move on?

  1. Outstanding post! No matter the company, if it’s employees don’t invest in themselves, the company, and innovate to become more efficient, another start-up out there or a competitor will overshadow them. Research in Motion “RIM” is the perfect example. They created the Blackberry and mobile email; however, not on delivering a multimedia and technological wonder like the iPhone. Once the realized they were behind the competition, “Apple”, the Android operating systems blindsided them due to their complacency and they fell from the “king of the mountain” position. I feel that most people fall into the default path to complacency because it is easy. And if they are complacent, they are putting money under their mattress to only have inflation take it away. It’s smarter to put money where it yields interest and obtains greater returns, and that is in themselves, and that bleeds over to the overall company. I too left one job in my life, when I retired from the Air Force. It was a very stressful transition; although, due to the investments I have made in myself, I was able to join MGMRI. I’m excited to see where my investments are going to take me and this great company in the future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

